Alexander Hoehn Saric, former Chief Counsel for Communications and Consumer Protections for the House Committee on Energy and Commerce Committee, has been sworn in as Chair of the Consumer Products Safety Commission (CPSC) following his confirmation by the Senate on October 12, 2021. Hoehn-Saric said in his first public comments that he intends to begin his tenure by “tackling the challenges associated with consumers’ growing reliance on e-commerce, the increasing complexity of products, and the continuing effects of the COVID-19 pandemic,” with specific focus on imported goods and AI-driven product developments. Hoehn-Saric replaces the vacancy left by former Chair Elliot Kaye.

Meanwhile, two additional nominees to the Commission await further action. Richard Trumka Jr., who will replace retiring Commissioner Bob Adler, has been confirmed in Committee and awaits a vote by the full Senate. The process for confirming President Biden’s third nominee, Mary Boyle, who currently serves as CPSC’s Executive Director and would fill an existing vacancy, appears to be stalled.